

LTYC Sailing Committee | Meeting Notes for February 18, 2020

Attendees: Polk Wagner, Rear Commodore & J/70 Fleet (Chair)

Bill Brown, NM Fleet

Jack Carruthers, Commodore & Alerion Fleet

Christine Gettel, Alerion Fleet

Tina Ludington, Alerion Fleet & Women's Regatta

Sean O'Brien, J/70 Fleet Tom Post, NM Fleet Dunne Saal, PHRF Fleet

Debi Schoenherr, Alerion Fleet, Protest Committee

Terry Taylor-Farquharson, Race Committee Dan Thompson, LTYC Sailing Director Andrew Wells, Alerion, NM, PHRF fleets

Jay Van Der Waal, J/105 Fleet

The group gathered via teleconference at 7:01pm.

Rear Commodore's Report

Polk congratulated NM-fleeter Adam Lowry on his recognition as Rolex Yachtsman of the Year. He also reported that the Beaver Island Committee has been formed, consisting of Mike Graham, Sam Powers, and Jay Van Der Waal — they will explore ideas and report back to the group. Finally, Polk reported that Dan Thompson's schedule and a set of terms have been set for Summer 2020.

2020 LTYC Sailing Calendar

The group reviewed a couple of items on the Calendar. The Alerions will have a Development Day on June 13. The consensus was that June 28 was likely to be better for the Racing Rules Seminar.

Club Racing Courses

The group discussed various aspects of the Club Racing race courses, including configurations, sailing "behind the point" versus "in the bay" and more. Most members agreed that the fleets have varied preferences/needs. Many members suggested ideas related to staggered timing for Saturday racing etc.

In general the LTYC Race Committee can accommodate many of those, subject to having sufficient personnel and RC boats. Next step is for each fleet to review their racing preferences and send them to Polk and Dan, who can then distill some proposals to bring to the Committee later this spring.

Club Racing Scoring System

The group discussed various aspects of the Club Racing Scoring System. Several members offered feedback and requests for improvements, including the need to be able to review scratch

sheets or registration lists prior to racing, better communication about where scores can be found online (FYI, they are always linked from the LTYC 'club racing' page), requiring earlier sign-up of competitors, and more details for some of the PHRF scoring. Most of these suggestion have to do with the processes used for inputing registration information and scores rather than the system itself. Polk will meet with Dan to review all suggestions received and report back to the committee with the 2020 plan for improvements.

Future Agenda Items

Topics raised to be discussed at a future Sailing Committee meeting:

- 1. How can we improve the after-racing social experience at LTYC? A Committee member (Tom Post) strongly suggests we consistently conduct daily awards for ALL fleets on ALL Saturday racing days, as a way to draw sailors to the social aspects of the racing. Other members and fleets probably have other ideas as well. How
- 2. The 2020 Sailing Budget
- 3. Repairs and upgrades to the Edith I and RIB for 2020.
- 4. Continuing discussion about how to address fleet preferences for race courses.
- 5. Other matters as needed.

The meeting adjourned at 8:01pm.

Action Items

- Each Fleet Captain will canvass his or her fleet for race course suggestions for improvement and send a list to Polk. Polk and Dan will review and discuss at a future Sailing Committee meeting.
- Polk & Dan will work on improvements to the scoring system and related processes and report back to the Committee.
- All members will consider ideas for how to improve the post-racing social events at LTYC.

NEXT MEETING - THURSDAY, MARCH 12 - 7:00PM ET

LTYC Sailing Committee — SailingCommittee@ltyc.org Chair: Polk Wagner — RearCommodore@ltyc.org

2020 LTYC Fleet Captains

J/105s – Jay Van Der Waal Dinghies – Robert Duff NMs – Bill Brown Alerion 28s – Christine Gettel J/70s – Scott Sellers

Winter/Spring 2020 Sailing Committee Meetings

Monday, January 20, 7:00pm Tuesday, February 18, 7:00pm

Thursday, March 12, 7:00pm Monday, April 13, 7:00pm Tuesday, May 12, 7:00pm